Uncommon Friends Foundation is pleased to announce the winners of its 2018 student scholarships. Scholarships are awarded to deserving students, veterans, challenged adults, and single parents who are pursuing degrees in education, technology and other studies. Nominees came from Lee, Charlotte, Collier, Glades, and Hendry Counties, need financial assistance, excel in school and in their personal lives, and possess high character qualities.

Berne Davis Future Teacher Scholarship – Jessica Groll-Whipple (Fort Myers).

James D. Newton Student Chair in Leadership Scholarship at Florida Southwestern State College – Skylar Zamniak (Fort Myers).

Veteran’s Scholarship – Bryan Whitworth (Fort Myers).

Florida Prepaid Scholarship – Eudoxie Elidor (Naples).

Single Parent Scholarships – Alexandria Thompson (Cape Coral).

Health Sciences Scholarships (2) – Brindy Klym (Cape Coral) and Nicole Reyes-Sime (Lehigh Acres).

Eleanor “Ellie” Newton Student Chair in Literature Scholarship at Florida Southwestern State College – Michelle Mendoza (Lehigh Acres).

PACE Center for Girls of Lee County Scholarships (2) –Sabrina Valdes (Cape Coral); and scholarship funded by Sandy Stillwell Youngquist – Ivanna Tonge (Lehigh Acres).

James F. Chelius, Jr. Scholarship for a Disabled Student – Josefina Diaz (Ave Maria).

Technical College Scholarship – Enrique Jimenez (LaBelle).

Hilliard Scholarships (2) – Berniece Cervantes (LaBelle) and Daneisha Germany (Clewiston).

2018 Special Recognition Scholarships (3) – Gerardo Alvarado (Cape Coral), Maegan Mikkelson (Cape Coral), and Reginald St. Fort (Fort Myers).

Winners will be honored at the Uncommon Friends Foundation’s 2018 Uncommon Evening to be held Thursday, November 8, from 6 to 9 pm at the historic Burroughs Home & Gardens. Event tickets and sponsorships can be purchased by emailing jennifer@uncommonfriends.org.

The annual scholarship committee is chaired by Uncommon Friends Foundation board member Susan Minaya and other volunteers. Working together with many community service organizations serving challenged, nontraditional and underserved populations, the committee identifies deserving individuals who will benefit through its needs- and character-based scholarships. Over the past 23 years under the direction of UFF board member Brenda Stewart, the Foundation has awarded $580,000 in educational scholarships to 475 deserving students.

Celebrating this year’s 25th anniversary of its founding, the Uncommon Friends Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to lifelong character building among today’s youth and business leaders. It is located at the historic Burroughs Home & Gardens at 2505 First Street in downtown Fort Myers, Florida. Its waterfront Gale McBride Pavilion is available for public and private weddings and events. Public tours of the historic home are available by reservation. For more information, visit www.uncommonfriends.org or call 239-337-9503.

Scholarship Winners

Uncommon Friends Membership Meeting 2011
Business Ethics Luncheon 2012
2016 Scholarship Recipients
2019 Business Ethics Luncheon at FGCU
2019 Uncommon Evening: Pearls of Wisdom
Business Ethics Award Recipients
Champion Teachers
Historic Images
Honorary Lifetime Membership Winners
Royal Palm Yacht Club Ladies Visit Burroughs Home
Scholarship Recipients